Cuba Has New Look Starting 2011

Photo from Cienfuegos, Cuba by Caridad

HAVANA TIMES, Jan. 3 — Cuba now has 15 provinces instead of 14 as new demarcations took effect with the New Year.  The Isle of Youth is still considered a Special Municipality.

The old La Habana province that surrounded the City of Havana was divided into two new provinces: Artemisa and Mayabeque.  Meanwhile, the City of Havana became simply Havana.

According to the National Statistics Office the largest province territory wise is Camaguey followed by Matanzas and Holguin while the City of Havana (2,141,652) has the largest population followed by Santiago de Cuba (1,047,015) and Holguin (1,037,161).

Map of Cuba’s provinces as of : 1/1/2011

Cuba as of 2011. Photo:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Photo of the Day

Photo of the Day
Picture 1 of 1

Sunset from my balcony, Varadero, Cuba.  By Joel Alcala (USA).  Camera: iPhone X

Submit your pictures to our Photo of the Day section
You don’t have to be a professional photographer, just send an image (in black and white or color), with a photo caption indicating where it was taken (city and country), type of camera or cell you used, and a small description about it.
Note: it is better for our format if you send horizontal orientation pictures. Even square will work but vertical is a problem.
Send your picture with your name and birth country, or where you reside, to this email address: [email protected]