Cuba Has Shortlist for Pan Am Baseball

HAVANA TIMES, August 27 — Cuba began the process of selecting its team for the 2010 COPABE Pan American Games/World Cup Qualifying Tournament to take place in Puerto Rico from October 1-10.  A shortlist of 39 players was announced on Thursday.

Nonetheless, there is no guarantee that the Cubans will actually take part in the tournament, considering that Cuba pulled out of the Central American Games this year in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico, due to a failure of US authorities to treat the Cuban delegation on the par with the other teams and provide adequate security.

The teams invited to the tournament hail from the Canada, United States, Nicaragua, Mexico, Dominican Republic, Venezuela, Dutch Antilles, Argentina, Aruba, Argentina and the hosts.

The Cuban shortlist includes the following players:

Catchers: Ariel Pestano (VCL), Yulexis La Rosa (VCL), Yosvani Alarcón (LTU), Frank Camilo Morejón (IND) and Yenier Bello (SSP)

Infielders: Yunier Mendoza (SSP), José Dariel Abreu (CFG), Alexander Malleta (IND), Yoilán Cerce (GTM), Michel Enríquez (IJV), Yorbis Borroto (CAV), Alexander Guerrero (LTU), Aledmis Díaz (VCL), Héctor Olivera (SCU) and Yulieski Gourriel (SSP).

Outfielders: Alfredo Despaigne (GRA), Yoenis Céspedes (GRA), Alexei Bell (SCU), Ariel Sánchez (MTZ), Giorvis Duvergel (GTM), Frederich Cepeda (SSP) y Yoandry Urgellés (IND)

Pitchers: Pedro Luis Lazo (PRI), Norge Luis Vera (SCU), Vladimir García (CAV), Miguel Alfredo González (HAB), Yadier Pedroso (HAB), Odrisamer Despaigne (IND), Arleys Sánchez (IND), Dalier Hinojosa (GTM), Miguel Lahera (HAB), Yulieski González (HAB), Jonder Martínez (HAB), Freddy Asiel Álvarez (VCL), Mailkel Folch (CAV), Robelio Carrillo (VCL), Norberto González (CFG), Ismel Jiménez (SSP) and Alexander Rodríguez (GTM).

While the manager has yet to be announced the initial coaching staff includes: Rodolfo Puente, Benito Camacho, Germán Mesa, Eduardo Martín, Esteban Lombillo, José Elosegui, Orestes Kindelán, Omar Linares, Julio Romero, Luis Jova, José Barrizonte, Javier Gálvez, Wilfredo Acosta and Juan Ramón Alvarado.