Cuba Baseball Playoff Schedule

By Circles Robinson

Slugger Alfredo Despaigne could be a key to Granma's success or failure against Guantanamo.

HAVANA TIMES, March 24 — Cuba’s quarterfinal baseball playoffs begin on Friday March 25th with the Eastern Division leaders Ciego de Avila (55-35) hosting Villa Clara (50-39) and Granma (53-37) receiving Guantanamo (51-39).

On Saturday March 26th the Western Division kicks off with league leaders Cienfuegos (59-31) hosting Habana (49-41) while Pinar del Rio (50-39) welcomes Sancti Spiritus (49-41).

Villa Clara were the runners-up in last year’s championship game losing to Industriales, which this season didn’t even make the playoffs.  Santiago de Cuba another perennial playoff rival will also not be present in the postseason.

The following is the full schedule for the four best-of-seven series.

Quarterfinals
Date Time Teams (home team first) Cuban TV channel
Fri Mar 25
17:00 GRA vs. GTM CE-2
20:00 CAV vs. VCL TR
Sat Mar 26 17:00 CAV vs. VCL CE-2
17:00 PRI vs. SSP TR
20:00 GRA vs. GTM CE-2
20:00 CFG vs. HAB TR
Sun Mar 27 14:00 PRI vs. SSP TR
14:00 CFG vs. HAB CE-2
Mon Mar 28 17:00 VCL vs. CAV CE-2
20:00 GTM vs. GRA TR
Tues Mar 29 17:00 GTM vs. GRA CE-2
17:00 HAB vs.-CFG TR
20:00 VCL vs. CAV TR
20:00 SSP vs. PRI CE- 2
Wed Mar 30 17:00 VCL vs. CAV CE-2
17:00 SSP vs. PRI TR
20:00 GTM vs. GRA TR
20:00 HAB vs. CFG CE-2
Thurs Mar 31 17:00 HAB vs. CFG TR
20:00 SSP vs. PRI TR
Fri Apr 1 17:00 GRA vs. GTM CE-2
20:00 CAV vs. VCL TR
Sat Apr 2 17:00 CAV vs. VCL CE-2
17:00 PRI vs. SSP TR
20:00 GRA vs. GTM TR
20:00 CFG vs. HAB CE-2
Sun Apr 3 14:00 CFG vs. HAB TR
14:00 PRI vs. SSP CE-2


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *