BRICS Alliance Expands to Include Argentina, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia and UAE

By Democracy Now

HAVANA TIMES – Six new countries will join the BRICS alliance, adding to the bloc of nations led by Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa. Starting on January 1, BRICS will be expanded to include Argentina, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates. The announcement came as BRICS members wrapped up a three-day summit in South Africa.

On Wednesday, Chinese President Xi Jinping blasted what he called a “Cold War mentality” haunting international politics. The remarks came a day after Xi unexpectedly skipped a major address in Johannesburg, fueling speculation over his health. The speech was instead delivered by Chinese Commerce Minister Wang Wentao.

Wang Wentao: “All that we have done, in the final analysis, is to enable our people to lead a prosperous life. However, some countries, unwilling to give up their hegemonic position, have arbitrarily blocked and suppressed emerging market countries and developing countries, curbing whoever is developing well, and tripping up whoever is catching up.”

Read more news here on Havana Times