Cuba Squad Set for Panama World Cup

HAVANA TIMES, Sept. 22 — Team Cuba has been named for the IBAF Baseball World Cup that gets underway in Panama on October 1st.  The Cubans play their first game on Sunday Oct. 2 against Australia.

The 16 competing teams are divided into two groups that will play a round robin of seven games in the first round, which is scheduled to conclude on Oct. 9th.

Group One includes host Panama, defending (2009) champion Team USA, Greece, Puerto Rico, Canada, Japan, the Netherlands and Chinese Taipei.

Group Two includes Cuba (lost 10-5 to USA in the 2009 final), Australia, Venezuela, Korea, Germany, Nicaragua, the Dominican Republic and Italy


Catchers (3): Ariel Pestano, Frank Camilo Morejón, Yosvani Alarcón.

Infielders (6): José Dariel Abreu, Héctor Olivera, Yuliesky Gourriel, Erisbel Arruebarruena, Michel Enríquez, Rudy Reyes.

Outfielders (5): Frederich Cepeda, Alfredo Despaigne, Rusney Castillo, Alexei Bell, Giorvis Duvergel.

Pitchers (10): Miguel Alfredo González, Freddy Asiel Álvarez, Yadier Pedroso, Norberto González, Yulieski González, Vicyohandri Odelín, Dalier Hinojosa, Alberto Soto, Miguel Lahera, Jonder Martínez.