OAS Forms a Working Group for Crisis in Nicaragua

The OAS Permanent Council.


The group is made up by Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, USA, Guyana, Mexico, Panama and Peru.

Foreign Minister Denis Moncada rejected the group and warned that they are not welcome in Managua. 


By Confidencial

HAVANA TIMES – The Permanent Council of the Organization of American States (OAS) on Thursday formed the “working group” that is supposed to visit Nicaragua to mediate the sociopolitical crisis that has left 317 dead. However, the foreign minister of the Ortega regime, Denis Moncada, rejected the group and warned that in Managua they will not receive it.

The group is made up of twelve countries (Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, USA, Guyana, Mexico, Panama and Peru), which have issued harsh criticism against the repression unleashed by the Ortega-Murillo regime.

“The Working Group will contribute to the national dialogue process in Nicaragua, including support, monitoring and verification measures in coordination with the ongoing efforts of the Organization, SICA (Central American Integration System) and other regional and international actors,” states the resolution approved at the OAS headquarters in Washington D.C.

Despite the reluctance of the regime to accept the working group, the resolution was approved with 20 votes in favor. Only four countries voted against: Bolivia, Nicaragua, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Venezuela. Eight member-states abstained.

“The Working Group for Nicaragua, created through a resolution, will be composed of a representative of each regional group and other Member States, who will be appointed by the Chair of the Permanent Council in consultation with the coordinators of the regional groups by August 10, and submit a monthly report to the Permanent Council on the progress of its efforts and progress,” stated the resolution.

“We reiterate and emphasize with clarity that Nicaragua will not accept the presence of any Working Group that has not been agreed upon by consensus and authorized by our Government,” said foreign minister Denis Moncada. “Nicaragua rejects and condemns this disrespectful action of a group of countries of this Council, when trying to become a foreign authority, meddling in the internal affairs that are exclusively the responsibility of Nicaraguans,” the diplomat insisted.

The creation of this working group for Nicaragua was agreed on August 2, when the Permanent Council met. The resolution set August 10 as the limit for the forming of the group and established that it should be composed of a minimum of five members.

The US ambassador to the OAS, Carlos Trujillo, said that the integration of the working group into the national crisis “will allow greater supervision and provide answers to the situation on the ground.” The US ambassador ratified his country’s position: Early elections and support for the Bishops of the Episcopal Conference as mediators of the dialogue.

The Ortega government has begun a campaign against the Catholic bishops and their role as mediators, after declaring them coup leaders and ensuring that they are not “qualified” for mediation.

Foreign Minister Moncada traveled last week to the Vatican to try to influence Pope Francis to remove certain bishops from the dialogue. However, the trip to Rome proved unsuccessful.