Teachers of Youth Awards

Photo Feature by Elio Delgado

Eusebio Leal, Omara Portuondo and Frank Fernandez

HAVANA TIMES, Oct. 24 — As part of the Cuban Culture Day activities, the “Teacher of Youths” award was bestowed upon seven intellectuals and artists this week by the Hermanos Saiz Association (AHS), an organization that promotes youth culture.

Singer Omara Portuondo, actress and director Veronica Lynn; the city of Havana historian, Eusebio Leal; pianist and composer Frank Fernandez, editor and critic Ambrosio Fornet, radio program writer Alberto Luberta, and playwright and cultural promoter Ramon Silverio received the highest distinction granted by the youth organization.

Luis Morlote Rivas presented the prizes in a ceremony that took place at Pavilion Cuba, the AHS national headquarters. Also speaking at the event was poet Liudmila Quincoses, who is a member of the national leadership of the association; she highlighted the values of the guests of honor and noted the contributions they’ve made to the next generation of creators.

Eusebio Leal expressed words of gratitude on behalf of both himself and his counterparts, while underlining the significance of the historical role and the political thought of the brothers Luis and Sergio Saiz. He also drew attention to the meaning of attaining the highest recognition of the organization, which takes its name from those two revolutionary youths who were murdered by the Batista dictatorship on August 13, 1957.

Click on the tumbnails below to view all the photos in this gallery

One thought on “Teachers of Youth Awards

Comments are closed.